Sinus Congestion, TMJ, Toothache, Eye Irritation? Acupressure Points St 3 & St 6 To The Rescue!

 

Awhile back a friend turned me on to what I think is a great self-help resource. It’s Michael Reed Gach’s blog on acupressure points called, not surprisingly, Acupressure.com. He has all sorts of information about what points and protocols to use for various health issues, but the ones I was most interested in are St 3 and St 6, since sinus congestion and TMJ are two issues I’ve had over the years. I love that these points are easy to reach and the routines are easy to do, AND St 3 is also known as the facial beauty point. Double woo-hoo!

 

(by Michael R Gach) I’ve had excellent results opening the sinuses and relieving jaw problems, including my own TMJ, simply holding the following acupressure points for a couple minutes at a time.

You’ll have to persist by holding these points for a couple of minutes, several times daily, for a few weeks – to get the best results. There is a lot to learn about how to use these acupressure points and the many things they are good for. I hope you’ll continue reading, to discover the benefits of using these points.

Toothache and Eye Irritation or Pressure:The Facial Beauty Point(St 3) is located at the bottom of the cheekbone (maxilla) directly down from the pupil. This master facial acupressure point relieves a stuffy nose, nasal congestion, and the pressure or pain associated with sinus problems. I have also used this point successfully on a client for facial paralysis.

I use this St 3 point for tooth pain, eye ache, eye irritation, and swelling around your eyes. The St 3 Point also improves facial muscle tone and increases circulation.

St 6 is the acupressure point for relieving TMJ, jaw spasms, and bruxism or grinding your teeth, especially during your sleep. St 6 is located between the upper and lower jaw, on the (masseter) muscle that bulges when the back molars are clenched. Follow the directions in the video clip, by holding this point firmly for two minutes several times a day, for a few months to retrain your jaw muscles and to prevent these jaw problems.

 

 

 

Source: http://www.acupressure.com/blog/index.php/sinus-problems-tmj-jaw-pain-and-bruxism-acupressure-points/

Gach offers a pdf on points (including St 3) for not only relieving hay fever and sinus problems, but also good for Bells Palsey, headache, stress, burnout, neck pain and stiffness and more.

The pdf contains 5 illustrations of 9 points and their benefits; six of these points are on both sides of the body, totaling 15 points. You can download the info and illustrations to have for easy reference here:

http://acupressure.com/sinus.pdf

And to learn about training Gach offers, you can go to this link: 

By signing up, you’ll get 3 illustrated articles and be on the list to get 3 free Acupressure videos that introduce the course and its details, all without any obligation.

 

Related Self-help Health posts:

Jin Shin Jyutsu: One Of My Favorite Self-help Health Tools

Spirit Gate: Heart 7 Acupoint For Anxiety, Insomnia And More

https://selfhelphealth.wordpress.com/2014/03/29/neti-your-nose-for-sinus-health-allergy-relief/

https://selfhelphealth.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/sinus-problems-horseradish-to-the-rescue/

Dealing With Sinus Congestion Naturally

 

Salud!

p.s. Be sure to subscribe to Self-help Health so you don’t miss any future posts. Also check out my new website Evolution Made Easier and blog of the same name for more helpful information, tips, tools and resources.

Disclaimer: Please note that any information here is provided as a guideline only, and is not meant to substitute for the advice of your physician, nutritionist, trained healthcare practitioner, and/or inner guidance system. Always consult a professional before undertaking any change to your normal health routine.

 

6 thoughts on “Sinus Congestion, TMJ, Toothache, Eye Irritation? Acupressure Points St 3 & St 6 To The Rescue!

  1. Sarah says:

    Hi Zirah 🙂

    Thank you for sharing the article and the links to your other posts. 🙂 I will come back to read them later this weekend. It is bed time now. I have plenty of trouble with my sinuses and they almost always come from something I have eaten that my body couldn’t handle. My body has a series of things it does when it is unhappy with me and a stuffy nose followed by a sinus headache is part of it. Besides trying to stay away from foods my body can’t handle, I put some Dr. Schulze’s Deep Tissue ointment on the sides of my nose and underneath and on my temples and usually also on my shoulders and the back of my neck. This usually subdues the sinus headache and lets me sleep. And while I am sleeping, my immune system runs around and heals my dry and unhappy sinuses. It can take a few days. I gave a bottle of the deep tissue ointment to my parents a while back and my Mom finally decided to try it when she hurt her back this spring. She said that she thought it helped, but that the scent was too strong to put on before going out places. I told her that I didn’t worry about it. It does have a strong scent. It is very effective, though. I have tried horseradish and it did clear my sinuses, but it caused a headache later. It seems like my body is super sensitive to things and it can be complicated to figure out how much is the right amount before it gives me a headache. I like the idea of using pressure points. I hope you have a fun and relaxing holiday weekend. 🙂 ❤

    Like

    • zirah1 says:

      Nice to hear from you. I hope you have a fun and relaxing weekend, too. And I can totally relate to how the body lets us know when it is unhappy w/ something we’ve eaten or done. In fact, I experienced it today….not sure which food I ate triggered things, but my nose started getting runny and I sneezed a number of times. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

