Great 4-Minute Exercise Routine + A Facelift?! Yes, Please!

Several years ago I featured an article by Dr. Mercola on the Nitric Oxide Dump routine and it has become one of the more frequently viewed posts, so I thought it might be of interest to a number of you to know about this simplified version I just found out about recently that I’m really enjoying, because it’s so easy to learn and quick to do, plus gives your body a workout where you end up feeling pooped and energized at the same time. HA!

And while you’re catching your breath from one of your 4-minute workout sessions, you can do the JSJ routine for cleaning, tightening and rejuvenating the skin. So in less than half an hour you can really have a positive impact on your overall health and well-being. How does it get any better than that?!

4-MINUTE AT-HOME WORKOUT FOR WHEN YOU CAN’T GET TO THE GYM OR NEED A LIFT

For the past two months, I’ve been testing a four-minute workout routine that promised to give the same benefits as if I’d worked out in the gym for an hour. Created by Dr. Zach Bush, it’s a new version of high-intensity interval training (HIIT). The three-to-four-minute workout consists of four basic exercises — squats, tin soldiers, snow angel and military press— which work all 16 major muscle groups. It takes about 4 minutes and I try to do it 3 times a day; on very busy “out-and-about” days, as little as once or twice.

It’s designed to stimulate the release of nitric oxide, which is actually a soluble gas and free radical stored in the lining or endothelium of your blood vessels that can catalyze and promote health.

The results have been impressive. I’ve gotten quite a bit leaner, developed muscle and strength, and lost about 5 pounds, which I’ve kept off easily (no mean feat for my aging self).  Normally, if I go a day without doing my usual 45-minute exercise routine, I start to gain weight;  if I can’t do my regular exercise, I can easily do this routine at home.

The simple routine is easy to do during my day and has proven an energizing break while working; I feel the effect immediately. It’s best to wait at least two hours between sessions, to allow the body to synthesize nitric oxide for subsequent release. ( I put a little sign up on my fridge, and sometimes set a timer, to remind myself to do a session). And for best results, I breath through the nose, not mouth. Over time, as the sequence has gotten easier to do, I’ve added more reps to keep myself challenged.

You can read all about how it works here at Mercola.com. I recommend following Zach Bush’s video at the top of the page as Dr. Mercola, whose info can be excellent, often take things to an extreme. I find his version pushes too hard.

Note: Wary of squats and of pushing too hard, too fast, I took the workout slowly the first few times, listening to how my body was handling it, and gradually increasing the intensity. Listen, listen, listen to your body…

Source: https://improvisedlife.com/2019/03/26/4-minute-at-home-workout-for-when-you-cant-get-to-the-gym-or-need-a-lift/

UPDATE 1/11/22: Need  further motivation to give the routine a try? Check out this 2 min. video of an interview where Dr Bush is asked about this quick, yet highly effective work-out…

Related Self-help Health post: Nitric Oxide Dump

BTW, Dr Zach Bush is one of the most knowledgeable, well-spoken natural health advocates I’ve come across and has given some great interviews on GMOs, and  glyphosate (among other things) and how they are tied to inflammation, leaky gut, autism and so much more. They’re actually worse for our health than I ever imagined. I highly recommend checking out his website and education resources. Here’s just one of the interviews I’ve watched: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=5&v=jWgnkgYtqnw&feature=emb_logo

And now on to the facelift! Here’s an easy to learn Jin Shin Jyutsu flow/hold from Astrid at FlowsForLife.com that has multiple benefits and uses, including rejuvenating the skin ….

Regenerating for the Deep Skin

Imagine if you had your own personal ‘plastic surgeon’?

Well, I am here to tell you that you have a special energy function that helps clean, rejuvenate and tighten the skin.

This is Jin Shin Jyutsu for a facelift!

There is a special energy function that helps regulate the temperature in your body. It also relaxes the muscles in the body, and circulates to clean, purify, and regenerate the deep skin.

All you have to ‘do’ is palm the backs of your calf muscles on the lower legs daily for a magic effect!

I have a friend who practices this hold every morning because she wakes up feeling a bit tight and stiff . She was delighted when I said to her: “No wonder you look so vibrant and so much younger than your age.”

Hold 20 minutes every day for two weeks, and you might find that your friends start wondering what you’ve been doing because you look so good.

Sunburn gone!

A few years ago, I went to the beach on a sunny day. I came home and realized I was quite sunburned. My skin felt tight and very uncomfortable. I decided to put this exercise to the test.

Instead of getting lots of lotions to put on my skin, I practiced the Jin Shin Jyutsu self help exercise below.

I was amazed that, after a few minutes, all the discomfort just melted away. There’s no other way to describe it. Also, the redness and heat dissipated, and I didn’t peel. It was quite extraordinary.

Hot hot hot!

This Jin Shin Jyutsu exercise is also great if your body gets really hot. Because this special energy travels up and down the whole body, it helps cool it! So we all have a natural built-in air-conditioning system. It’s so clever.

Jin Shin Jyutsu for a facelift

Cross your arms. Place the palm of your RIGHT hand (with fingers facing down towards your feet) on the LEFT calf (the fleshy part at the back of the  leg below the knee). Do the same for the palm of the LEFT hand on the RIGHT calf.

If you’re working on someone else, lie them face up and stand at their feet facing their head.

Then place your LEFT palm on their RIGHT calf muscles, fingers facing up towards their head, and your RIGHT palm on their LEFT calf, fingers facing up towards their head.

So when you work on yourself, you cross your arms. When you work on someone else, you don’t.

Note: if you find it difficult to hold this position for a while, try lying on your side. Or just shorten the sessions but do them more often. The time I share with you is a guide. However, the more you do, the more effective this exercise will be!

Simple and effective. But don’t take my word for it. As Mary Burmeister says, “Be your own testimony.”

Source: https://www.flowsforlife.com/magic-exercise-jin-shin-jyutsu-facelift/

See also: Self Help Hold for the Skin Surface

Salud!

p.s. Be sure to subscribe to Self-help Health so you don’t miss any future posts, and tell your friends to do the same. Also check out my website’s To Your Health page and Evolution Made Easier blog for more helpful health tips, tools and information.

Disclaimer: Please note that any information here is provided as a guideline only, and is not meant to substitute for the advice of your physician, nutritionist, trained healthcare practitioner, and/or inner guidance system. Always consult a professional/your inner knowing before undertaking any change to your normal health routine.